NewThe GrimJack Reading Order

John Ostrander and Tim Truman’s legendary comic series

GrimJack: Killer Instinct
Reprints Grimjack: Killer Instinct #1-6 (August 2009 – January 2010).
GrimJack: The Manx Cat
Reprints Grimjack: The Manx Cat #1-6 (January 2005 – June 2005).
These two volumes, although the most recently released stories, are prequels to the original series that is reprinted in the Legend of GrimJack volumes.
The Legend of GrimJack, vol.1
Reprints Starslayer #10-18 (December 1983 – July 1984, Grimjack stories only; also includes a new framing story unique to this volume).
The Legend of GrimJack, vol.2
Reprints Grimjack #1-7 (August 1984 – February 1985, Grimjack stories only).
The Legend Of GrimJack, vol.3
Reprints Grimjack #8-14 (March 1985 – September 1985, Grimjack stories only).
The Legend Of GrimJack, vol.4
Reprints Grimjack #15-21 (October 1985 – March 1986, Grimjack stories only).
The Legend Of GrimJack, vol.5
Reprints Grimjack #22-30 (May 1986 – January 1987, Grimjack stories only).
Munden’s Bar
Reprints Grimjack #2-6, 8, 10, 12-16 & 22 (September 1984 – January 1985, March 1985, May 1985, July 1985 – September 1985 & June 1986; Mundern’s Bar stories only).
Munden’s Bar is a spinoff from the main GrimJack title, and although the stories in it take place in no particular order, there is a reference to one story from this volume in The Legend of GrimJack vol.7. This selfsame story, Phil Foglio’s “Work Ethic”, features characters who later appeared in the DC Universe (in the sadly uncollected “Stanley and His Monster” series, and later still in Foglio’s own Girl Genius series.
The Legend Of GrimJack, vol.6
Reprints Grimjack #31-37 (February 1987 – August 1987).
The Legend Of GrimJack, vol.7
Reprints Grimjack #38-46 (September 1987 – May 1988).
The Legend Of GrimJack, vol.8
Reprints Grimjack #47-54 (June 1988 – January 1989).
Bookmark the permalink.


  1. First Comics “The Gift” Holiday Special came out in November of 1990 and is definitely a Grimjack story as much as it was an anthology of all the First titles. I just never have found a proper place to put it in my reading order for the series. I just know it cannot be #72-77 because he has short hair in those issues. Any suggestions?

    • Unfortunately, I am a late comer to Grimjack, and only have the reprint volumes shown on this page. I’ve not read the story you mention, and I’m afraid I really don’t know where it would fit in.

Leave a Reply